A YEAR AFTER GRADUATION: What’s Up?

My academic life has always been like the beginning of an action play, a young lad who discovers he has many foes or courses to undertake and must not fail any mission/paper as his superior boss/parents expect nothing less than a total success/B grade.

I was a terrible crammer, so I had to study the right way and my study group that included some of the students with the highest CGPA was always there to help. Some of my classmates usually came to me for academic help and I always tried to offer my assistance when I could.

Though I was a playful and happy chap, I had a clear sense of direction, as I knew the career path that would be best for me, as I had big goals of creating a new phase of communication; a goal with little or no plans for execution or implementation.

My graduation day was fun, taking numerous selfies and pictures, throwing our caps in the air, hugging friends, you might never meet again, and not to forget the big plate of rice and chicken I couldn’t get enough of

With an IQ of 140, no knowledge of coding and programming, I was competing with technocrats and geniuses like Mark Zuckerberg, Michael Dell and Bill Gates who are the world super heroes in the communication. Do the math, and you’ll tell that I was on my own.

Few weeks after graduation from the university, the Nigerian economy got its worst dilemma as oil prices had crashed globally and our lack of economic diversification and industrialization made things go from bad to catastrophic.

Multi-national agencies increased their recruitment requirements and made it more difficult for a graduate to get a job.  These huge tragedies have made me uncertain of what tomorrow will bring as I began to focus on the difficulties instead of the opportunities.

Indeed it’s a hard-knock life, and though I had little savings they were almost nothing due to the high rate of inflation. Some Nigerians don’t know if they will die of hunger or where their next meal will come from. They have no glimmer of hope for a better tomorrow

With the mandatory year for national service, (8 months in) I have recognised a thousand and one opportunities in the world of power and energy generation, agriculture and structural engineering waiting to untapped by willing graduates.

The future seems uncertain as I don’t know if I am fit to run a personal business or I should hustle for corporate recruitment. I don’t know if I’ll ever be given the opportunity to speak on TED or if I will be richer than Aliko Dangote or Mark Zuckerberg. I sure hope I will be able to make my family proud and I will have added value to someone’s life.

I year after graduation and it’s like I’m on a path to self-rediscovery and I hope that the refined me will be able to proffer solutions to the tough world we live in. I hope I will be able to build an army of responsible adults committed to making sure that the world is a happier and safer place.

Though a degree looks good on the wall what looks better is the application of knowledge to help those who were not privileged to proceed any further than high (secondary) school. Fellow graduates, use your intelligence and highly priced knowledge to help others or at least your family.

One thought on “A YEAR AFTER GRADUATION: What’s Up?

Leave a Reply

